Board of Commissioners

Snohomish County Public Hospital District No. 1's Board of Commissioners meets monthly.

The Board's meetings are open to the public, with an opportunity for public comment near the beginning of the meeting.

You can also e-mail the Board of Commissioners.

2019 Meeting Schedule

Meeting time:  5:30 p.m. (unless otherwise noted)
Location:  EvergreenHealth Monroe, Godard Room

Agendas are posted prior to each meeting. Minutes from each meeting are posted after they are approved at the next month's meeting. 

We make every attempt to post the approved minutes in a timely manner. If the Board meeting has occurred and the minutes are not yet posted, please contact us at 360.794.1489.

From time to time, special meetings may be called. Notices of these meetings are posted on the information board outside the Godard Room at EvergreenHealth Monroe, and will be printed in the Legal Notices section of the Everett Herald and the Monroe Monitor.

If you would like to be added to our list of e-mail notification for these special meetings, and other important Board notices, please notify us by calling 360.794.1489.

Public Meeting Archive

The Board of Commissioners

The Commissioners are elected officials of Snohomish County Public Hospital District No. 1 and serve a rotating six-year term. 

Each of the commissioners has been actively involved in this community for many years. Raising their families and working locally has given them continued insight into this rapidly growing community and the challenges that have come with the growth.

Gregory Accetturo

Greg Accetturo was elected to the EvergreenHealth Monroe board in 2015. His background in the medical device industry brings to the board an understanding of the business and clinical needs of health care providers from around the world. He has also served for nine years on the Monroe School District's board of directors. His current term extends to December 2023.


Tony Balk

Tony Balk served the community as a fire commissioner and held a seat on the Monroe City Council for 12 years before joining the EvergreenHealth Monroe board in 2014. A leader in the community, he took an active role in the recent hospital levy campaign. Balk advocates for the importance of a local, patient-focused hospital in the community. His current term extends to December 2019.


Alice Cabe

2019 Board Chair

Alice Cabe joined the EvergreenHealth Monroe board in 1994. She brings to the board a strong interest in community health, which she first discovered during her university work in microbiology and public health. Cabe is immersed in the health care industry, where she is employed as a manager of a hospital laboratory. She has lived in Snohomish County with her family for many years and actively participates in community functions. Her current term extends to December 2021.


Steve Matuschak

Steve Matuschak joined the EvergreenHealth Monroe board in 2014, and brings with him more than 20 years of senior management experience with Genie Industries, where he retired as senior director of international operations. Matuschak brings to the board an extensive background in financial planning, operations, quality improvement and the development of customer-focused organizational cultures. His current term extends to December 2019.


Chuck Strub, MD

2019 Board Secretary

Dr. Charles Strub joined the EvergreenHealth Monroe board in 2014 after retiring from nearly 40 years at the Puget Sound Vein Center in Monroe. During that time, he served as hospital chief of staff and took an active role among Valley General Hospital’s medical staff. Dr. Strub advocated on behalf of Valley General during the hospital’s recent levy campaign, sharing the importance of Valley General’s services and 24/7 access to emergency care with the community. His current term extends to December 2021.